Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
May 17, 2024, 01:58:32 pm

Login with username, password and session length

Links

FSA logo

Author Topic: Let's talk about the Bristol Rovers game  (Read 9714 times)

selby

• VSC Member
Let's talk about the Bristol Rovers game
« on September 21, 2020, 12:08:07 pm by selby »
  We have had in our first two league games quite a swing in seven days as to how our supporters view the coming season, from a little pessimism to outright optimism after a draw at home which was a little fortunate and a great display and result at Charlton.
  Now for Bristol Rovers who had a great result the first week away at Sunderland getting a draw after leading for much of the game, to a disappointing 2-0 reverse against Ipswich Town at home last Saturday.
  Those two fixtures followed by our game on Saturday is not the start to a season I would really pick out if I was a manager, not an easy start at all, especially when Bristol, have had a big change in playing personnel, and losing their top scorer in the process who will be hard to replace. Their pick has been Hanlon who we were touted to be after from Gillingham a player with lots of potential although is considered wasteful in front of goal a trait I hope he keeps up for at least next weekend.
  Our win at Charlton has certainly lit the fires of expectation, and deservedly so after a great performance, but a word of caution I cannot see Bristol giving us the room in midfield we enjoyed in that game, certainly I don't expect us to be able to run into a great space directly in front of goal that Gomes had in front of him for his goal and that is not detracting from the way he accepted the invitation, he took the chance brilliantly.
  We have enjoyed some good days in the last couple of seasons against the blue half of Bristol let's hope we can maintain it.