Oldham Athletic Programme Notes

What is the VSC?
The VSC is a registered Community Benefit Society (more commonly known as Industrial and Provident Societies) and as such are regulated by the Financial Services Authority and we have our own set of Rules which dictate what we can and can't do.
A copy of the Rules which can be downloaded from http://www.drfc-vsc.co.uk/files/VSC-Rules-2012.doc 
Some of the rules you need to remember:
   The VSC is independent from DRFC and for the benefit of the Community it serves and not its members.
   Your share only remains your property so long as you remain paying your subscription. If you don't pay your subscription your share automatically becomes the property of the society
   The VSC is to conduct its business in a fair, open and democratic manner and encour- ages the club to do the same.

The VSC: "A Model Trust"
Following the In Rovers We Trust Project, the VSC has been recognised outside of Doncaster, being called a "Model Trust" by Supporters Direct and this recog- nition was acknowledged in the 2012 Fans Weekend between Supporters Direct and the Football supporters Federation.

VSC Success:
*Improved the VSC website and forum for the benefit of all DRFC supporters
*The first 'Supporters Trust' in the country to incorporate the new Supporters Direct rules
*Successfully introduced the 'fan engagement' concept to DRFC which became the DRFC 'In Rovers We Trust' campaign to significantly improve the relationship between the club and its core supporters. We are seeing the success of In Rovers We Trust now, such as pay on the gate trials at home cup fixtures
*We have a Board member on the National Council of the Football Supporters Federation
* We have a Board member on the Doncaster Football Partnership
*Created our Community Panel to create opportunities for charitable work
* A close working relationship with the Community Foundation team which resulted in the introduction of the Fit Fans Initiative and we assisted by donating a hospitality box for a Rovers game for the participants
*Negotiated with the club on Season Ticket and match day prices plus encouraged the elimination of match categories.
*Assisted with the creation of add-ons for Season Ticket holders
*The behind the scenes work to ensure the Keepmoat Stadium was retained as a community benefit for the local community but especially DRFC supporters
* We contributed to the 'Rovers Promise' and assisted with updating the clubs charter
*  Renaming of the Lakeside Bar to the Belle Vue Bar
* Donated memorabilia to brighten up the Belle Vue Bar and launched a campaign for fans to be able to donate their memorabilia to display too.
* Raised funds and donated VSC memorabilia to Billy Sharp's LJS Foundation 
*  Sponsored children's football activities at the Keepmoat
* Met with SYPTE and DRFC officials to resolve the post-match public transport issues.


The VSC Board
The VSC consists of a Board of 12 directors, each elected for a 2 year term by the VSC Membership. These directors donate their free time and expertise on your behalf to make decisions about the VSC, set the direction of the Society within the club and the community.
The VSC Board meets once a month to ensure that they can deal with issues when they arise effectively and efficiently. All of the VSC Board Meetings are minuted and published in the VSC Members only section of the Forum.
Chairman: Nathan Batchelor (nathan.batchelor@drfc-vsc.co.uk
Secretary:Martin O'Hara ( martin.ohara@drfc-vsc.co.uk
Treasurer: Mark Lister (mark.lister@drfc-vsc.co.uk
Vice Treasurer: Andy Audsley (andrew.audsley@drfc-vsc.co.uk
Membership Officer: Lee Croft (lee.croft@drfc-vsc.co.uk
Press/Communications Officer: Mike Follows (mike.follows@drfc-vsc.co.uk
Community Officer: Dave Burkitt (dave.burkitt@drfc-vsc.co.uk
Commercial Officer : Kevin Twell (kevin.twell@drfc-vsc.co.uk ) 
IT/Website Officer: Rob Willliams (rob.williams@drfc-vsc.co.uk
Board Members without portfolio: Glyn Wigley (glyn.wigley@drfc-vsc.co.uk), Martyn Bentley (martyn.bentley@drfc-vsc.co.uk), Rob Clark (rob.clark@drfc-vsc.co.uk


The VSC works hard to be the critical friend to the club, helping the club improve and meet the expectations of supporters. If you have not already done so, please renew or join the VSC. Membership only costs 12 to join, and you can pay 1 a month. By becoming a member of the VSC you are part of an organisation that is a significant shareholder in the club. To become a member visit www.drfc-vsc.co.uk and click on the Join VSC link at the top.


SMF 2.0.6 | SMF © 2011, Simple Machines
TinyPortal © 2005-2012

Go back to article