0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
The commentator was clearly bias towards Fleetwood
Quote from: Fal on December 05, 2024, 07:32:43 amThe commentator was clearly bias towards FleetwoodNot much!All you could hear were the Rovers fans singing but he kept saying throughout how the Fleetwood fans were not giving the game up & were spurring their players on.On 51 minutes, Ted pulled some mud from the bottom of his ‘kicking boot’ before a goal kick & the commentator said “The Doncaster keeper clearly looking to waste a few seconds there”!!A Sterry tackle had him wondering if “….on another day that might well have been a red”. Sterry wasn’t even booked!To##er.
Crackers isn’t it, who does fully understand the offside law now.The scorer was in an offside position when the first ball was played in, which gave him an advantage (how can that not be interfering with play) and was still in an offside position when the second ball was played to him.Even if it did touch Jay, surely an offside offence has taken place.
Quote from: drfchound on December 05, 2024, 11:45:31 amCrackers isn’t it, who does fully understand the offside law now.The scorer was in an offside position when the first ball was played in, which gave him an advantage (how can that not be interfering with play) and was still in an offside position when the second ball was played to him.Even if it did touch Jay, surely an offside offence has taken place.Completely agree with this. If it really is the rule that in the circumstances of this incident any touch by a defender nullifies the offside then the logical conclusion would be that in order for the defending side to avoid nullifying offside they must avoid contact with the ball. If that really is the situation then it is totally laughable.
Quote from: i_ateallthepies on December 05, 2024, 12:21:02 pmQuote from: drfchound on December 05, 2024, 11:45:31 amCrackers isn’t it, who does fully understand the offside law now.The scorer was in an offside position when the first ball was played in, which gave him an advantage (how can that not be interfering with play) and was still in an offside position when the second ball was played to him.Even if it did touch Jay, surely an offside offence has taken place.Completely agree with this. If it really is the rule that in the circumstances of this incident any touch by a defender nullifies the offside then the logical conclusion would be that in order for the defending side to avoid nullifying offside they must avoid contact with the ball. If that really is the situation then it is totally laughable. Indeed. The Fleetwood player was absolutely interfering with play, or active, before McGrath touched the ball. He effectively tackled him.I remember Shankly scoffing at the 'not interfering with the play' rule by saying something like 'I never want to see any player of mine not interfering with play'